OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS GARNER-HAYFIELD-VENTURA COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Community School District was held on September 18, 2017, in the media center at the high school building at approximately 6:32 p.m.

Board members present: J. Toppin, Roberts, Costello, Watson, G. Toppin, Frank, and Linahon.

Board members absent: None

Motion by Linahon, second by J. Toppin, to approve the proposed agenda for said regular meeting. All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by Frank, to approve the minutes of the August 15, 2017, regular meeting. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by G. Toppin, to approve the Secretary's Financial Reports, as well as the bill lists to be paid from the General Fund, Activity Fund, Management Fund, Capitol Projects Fund, PPEL Fund, House Construction Fund, Internal Service Fund, GHV Flex Fund, Merit Achievement Award Fund, and the Nutrition Fund. All voted in favor.

Upon motion by J. Toppin, seconded by Frank, and unanimously carried the regular meeting was adjourned by Pres. Costello at approximately 6:46 p.m.

The reorganizational meeting of the Board of Directors of the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Community School District was called to order by Board Secretary Schmidt at approximately 6:47 p.m.

The Board Secretary administered the Oath of Office to newly elected board members Jay Larkin, Jack Toppin, and Steve Watson, who had been elected to four year at-large terms. (See written Oaths of Office on file with the Board Secretary.)

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Frank, to elect Pamela Roberts as Board President. All voted in favor.

Motion by Linahon, second by Frank, to elect either Gene Toppin or Steve Watson as Board Vice-President. On a vote of 6 to 1 Steve Watson was elected board vice-president. At this time Pamela Roberts presided at the meeting.

Motion by G. Toppin, second by Frank, to approve scheduling all regular school board meetings to be held on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the high school media center. All voted in favor.

Board members heard from new teachers Kaitlyn Murphy, Ashley Yap, Rachel Hejna, Hillary Dodge, Melodee Birke, Meghan Craig, Patty Norman, Justin Meyer,

and TLC Mentor Coordinator Katrina Klooster on the start of the school year.

Administrative reports were heard from Dianne Hinders, Mike Meyering, Renee Denny, and Jim Haag. Supt. Williams reported to the board on the building project and a new app for GHV coming out soon on the Apple Store.

A review of the Student Health and Wellness policies in Series 500 as prepared by the school nurses was held. Motion by G. Toppin, second by Linahon, to approve the policies as presented. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Watson, to approve a Modified Allowable Growth request for the special education deficit. All voted in favor. (Resolution on file in the Superintendent's office.)

Motion by Frank, second by Linahon, to approve lane changes for the following:

Megan Dodd Racine Dodd Brennan Fischer Mary Hall Rachel Hejna Jennifer Kumsher Sara Olson Lora Tabbert

All voted in favor.

Motion by G. Toppin, second by Watson, to approve change orders 11, 12, and 13 for the high school renovation project as presented. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Linahon, to approve the following personnel items:

Hires:

Ashley Yap – Volunteer Cheer Coach Brandee Henderson – Cook Katilin Hansen – Cook

FMLA Leave Request: Cynthia Connelly

1-Year Sabbatical: Tony Heitland

All voted in favor.

Motion by Frank, second by G. Toppin, to award the Employee of the Month to Mary Fisk. All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by J. Toppin, to designate board member Gene Toppin as board representative to the IASB Delegate Assembly. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Linahon, to appoint board president Roberts as representative to the Hancock County Conference Board and board member Gene Toppin to the Cerro Gordo County Conference Board. All voted in favor.

Motion by Frank, second by Watson, to appoint board member Jack Toppin as representative to the G-H-V Education Foundation Board. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Linahon, to approve the following board members for the following committees for the current school year, to-wit:

Building and Grounds – Larkin and Watson Finance – Roberts, J. Toppin, and Frank Negotiations – G. Toppin and Watson Transportation – Frank and Linahon

All voted in favor.

There being no further business to come before the board at this time, upon motion by J. Toppin, second by Frank, and unanimously carried, the reorganization meeting was adjourned by President Roberts at approximately 8:48 p.m.

Patricia A. Schmidt Board Secretary